Let’s talk about books

Books! I love me a good book, sometimes it can be the best form of entertainment. I commented in an earlier post how I didn’t grow to like reading until my early teens. The book that changed everything was “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone”. After that I went on a reading frenzy that has continued until today. Since I majored in English at University, I’ve been exposed to even more types of books and genres. I really enjoy book series, particularly in the fantasy genre. It’s what I have read the most and very much enjoy. I do branch off from time to time with other novels when I read an interesting synopsis or recommendation. I’d like to discuss and recommend some of my favourite book series and other novels. While some of my choices may not be the most surprising, there is a lot of enjoyment to be found in them.

Harry Potter – Series (7 Books) – Written by J. K. Rowling

The novels revolve around Harry Potter, an orphan who discovers at the age of eleven that he is a wizard, living within the ordinary world of non-magical people, known as Muggles. His ability is inborn and such children are invited to attend an exclusive magic school that teaches the necessary skills to succeed in the wizarding world. Harry becomes a student at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and it is here where most of the events in the series take place. As Harry develops through his adolescence, he learns to overcome the problems that face him: magical, social and emotional, including ordinary teenage challenges such as friendships, infatuation and exams, and the greater test of preparing himself for the confrontation in the real world that lies ahead.

Wikipedia

Harry Freaking Potter. I would say this is my favourite book series by far. Not only did these books make me love to read, but they have given me so much enjoyment over the years. I think I’ve read the entire series four or five times now. I love revisiting the books over the years, it’s like seeing old friends again. I’m not even sure I can pinpoint why I like them so much. I guess every kid wished he was magical and special and be whizzed off to a wizard school. There was so much magic and charm to be found in these books. The characters were amazing in their own way, and very unique too! I loved the segments of them being at school, taking classes and interacting with students and teachers. The books definitely got darker as they went along, but it added even more mystery and intrigue. I could go on for days about this series really. The movies did them great justice as well. I’m not sure who hasn’t read these books yet, but please give them a try if you’re on the fence!

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Series (13 Books) – Written by Lemony Snicket

follows the turbulent lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire after their parents’ death in an arsonous house fire. The children are placed in the custody of their distant cousin Count Olaf, who attempts to steal their inheritance. After the Baudelaires are removed from his care by their parents’ estate executor, Mr. Poe, Olaf begins to doggedly hunt the children down, bringing about the serial slaughter and demise of a multitude of characters.

Wikipedia

These books are a tremendous series for kids and anyone in general. I started reading these while reading Harry Potter, and boy am I glad I did. Lemony Snicket is amazing with his wordplay in these novels. It is very funny and full of little tidbits of knowledge. The characters are very unique and at times infuriating (usually the adults). The story goes all over the place and has multiple settings (hence the thirteen books). Every book has a mystery and intrigue and a memorable character. The main antagonist is truly out there and unexpected, but oddly likeable too. You never know what the next page will bring, honestly sometimes there isn’t a single word! While there are a lot of books, they don’t take very long to read at all.

The Lord of the Rings – Series (3 Books) – Written by J. R. R. Tolkien

The title of the novel refers to the story’s main antagonist, the Dark Lord Sauron, who had in an earlier age created theOne Ring to rule the other Rings of Power as the ultimate weapon in his campaign to conquer and rule all of Middle-earth. From quiet beginnings in the Shire, a hobbit land not unlike the English countryside, the story ranges across northwest Middle-earth, following the course of the War of the Ring through the eyes of its characters, the hobbits Frodo Baggins,Samwise “Sam” Gamgee, Meriadoc “Merry” Brandybuck and Peregrin “Pippin” Took, but also the hobbits’ chief allies and travelling companions: the Men Aragorn, a Ranger of the North and Boromir, a Captain of Gondor; Gimli, a Dwarf warrior;Legolas, an Elven prince; and Gandalf, a Wizard.

Wikipedia

And you thought the movies were good? Well, they are but the books they are based on are just as good. The movies do a superb job adapting the novels, but actually reading them gives much more. There is a lot of beautiful detail in these novels, from the landscapes, thoughts and battles. There are a few more characters in the book and the expansion of minor characters in the movies. There are also some fun scenes in the books that never made it to film (somehow). Lord of the Rings is a great adventure series from beginning to end. The splitting of the party leads to more interesting story lines and there’s a great theme of friendship and love throughout. Just make the best of both worlds and read the books and watch the movies.

I would say these three series made the biggest impact on me growing up. I think about them often and still revisit them from time to time. Here are a few other series I read and would recommend.

The Chronicles of Narnia – Series (7 Books) – Written by C. S. Lewis

Set in the fictional realm of Narnia, a fantasy world of magic, mythical beasts, and talking animals, the series narrates the adventures of various children who play central roles in the unfolding history of that world. Except in The Horse and His Boy, the protagonists are all children from the real world, magically transported to Narnia, where they are called upon by the lion Aslan to protect Narnia from evil and restore the throne to its rightful line. The books span the entire history of Narnia, from its creation in The Magician’s Nephew to its eventual destruction in The Last Battle.

Wikipedia

Narnia is a lively world and the evolution of the characters are fun to watch unfold. I only read them all once, so I forget some of the plot. I remember really enjoying “The Horse and His Boy” the most, which is a standalone entry in the series.

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Series (6 Books) – Written by Douglas Adams

The various versions follow the same basic plot but they are in many places mutually contradictory, as Adams rewrote the story substantially for each new adaptation. Throughout all versions, the series follows the adventures of Arthur Dent, a hapless Englishman, although the story also follows the adventure of other major characters: Ford Prefect (who named himself after the Ford Prefect car to blend in with what was assumed to be the dominant life form, automobiles), an alien from a small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse and a researcher for the eponymous guidebook; Zaphod Beeblebrox, Ford’s semi-cousin and the Galactic President; the depressed robot Marvin the Paranoid Android; and Trillian, formerly known as Tricia McMillan, a woman Arthur once met at a party in Islington and the only other human survivor of Earth’s destruction.

Wikipedia

These books are hilarious and out of this world. It takes a different kind of mind to come up with the stories and dialogue in these novels. It can be really weird at times but very enjoyable. I didn’t realize until now a sixth book was written a few years ago by Eoin Colfer, may have to check it out!

His Dark Materials – Series (3 Books) – Written by Philip Pullman 

It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

Wikipedia

I only read these books once but I remember enjoying them a lot. It is a cool premise and has loads of interesting characters. Things really shake up in the second book and leads to a climatic finale.

Standalone Books

Battle Royale – Written by Koushun Takami

Battle Royale takes place in an alternate timeline; according to the book’s prologue, Japan is a police state, known as the Republic of Greater East Asia (大東亜共和国 Dai Tōa Kyōwakoku). From time to time, fifty randomly selected classes of secondary school students are forced to take arms against one another until only one student in each class remains.

Wikipedia

This is an amazing book. It is crazy from start to finish with some truly memorable characters. Many people point out the similarities between Battle Royale and Hunger Games (BR came out first) and while they are similar, Battle Royale is very different. The Japan setting for one makes it stand out and the reasons behind why the kids must kill each other. I like how each chapter focuses on a student (or group of students). The finale is very tense and crazy, I can’t wait to read it again.

The Lovely Bones – Written by Alice Sebold

It is the story of a teenage girl who, after being raped and murdered, watches from her personal Heaven as her family and friends struggle to move on with their lives while she comes to terms with her own death.

Wikipedia

Talk about an emotion ride. I like this book for a few reasons, the biggest is how it made be feel. It really moved me and put me through many different emotions. Not all books can do that to a person. I was heavily invested in the story and family in the book. The book discusses love and death in a great and personal way. It is also very thrilling as well, with a killer you can’t wait to get what’s coming to him. I was very disappointed by the film directed by Peter Jackson, mostly because I didn’t get the emotion out of it like I did the book.

Jurassic Park – Written by Michael Crichton

An astonishing technique for recovering and cloning dinosaur DNA has been discovered. Creatures once extinct now roam Jurassic Park, soon-to-be opened as a theme park. Until something goes wrong…and science proves a dangerous toy….

Source

Just like the movie, I love the book too! The movie is a great adaptation of the novel, but there are some differences in the book I really like. Mostly there are some characters with more of a role or select scenes done differently. I just love the story of the movie and the book, it is so fun and thrilling! If you love the movie please read the book too. It doesn’t take long to read and the differences are worth it. I should mention the book sequel is SO much better than the movie sequel. They strayed from the second novel a lot for the movie, and I don’t know why, it’s awesome! Check it out too.

Well, that’s enough books for now. I have read a lot more books that I may comment on as well someday. I really enjoy reading, but I feel I need to be in a certain mode to get into books sometimes. I am welcome for recommendations anytime and I am currently reading the Dark Tower series by Stephen King (on number 4).

6 thoughts on “Let’s talk about books

Leave a comment